09:58:56 Saturday, 16th October

La Laguna is Tenerife's second most important city and until 1723 was the capital of the island, situated just inland from Santa Cruz in the beautiful countryside of the Aguere Valley. It is also the cultural and religious capital, due to the fact that it is home to the San Fernando University and the Bishop's Palace. The whole city is full of outstanding architectural monuments, palaces and traditional houses of the 17th and 18th centuries. 

Among its religious buildings, the most impressive are the Catedral de Nuestra Señora de los Remedios (La Laguna’s Cathedral), Iglesia de Santo Domingo (the Saint Dominic Church) and Iglesia de Nuestra Señora de la Concepción (Church of Our Lady of Conception) - the latter has a fine Mudéjar carved wooden ceiling and an exceptional Baroque wooden pulpit from the 18th century. You can also explore the Iglesia del Santo Cristo (Church of the Holy Christ) and Ermita de San Miguel (Saint Michael Chapel).

For history and art in La Laguna, check out the Friends of the Country Economic Society Museum, the museum located within Concepción Church's and the cathedral's museum. 

La Laguna's municipal boundaries extend to the towns of Tejina and Valle Guerra, which are very rich agricultural areas as well as Bajamar and Punta del Hidalgo.